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Cataphract Rules 

4.33 Overall Commander: Add: “An OC with a 2 LC capability (e.g., Belisarius) must start the 

Orders Phase within range of both Lines. He may not issue one LC, move, and then issue 

another.” 

 

4.62 Change 1st sentence to: “The instant an enemy combat unit moves adjacent by any means 

(6.0, 9.2, etc.) to a friendly leader that is not already in an enemy ZOC or pursuing (6.73 #4), that 

friendly leader may immediately withdraw from one to three hexes, player’s choice, away from 

the enemy unit.” 

 

5.15 Bullet #4: Reference should be to 5.26 

5.26 Replace the 2nd paragraph with: “A leader that begins his initial Orders Phase in an enemy 

ZOC may remain inactive and thus do nothing (an exception to 5.15 #4). If, later in the Game 

Turn, the leader is no longer in an enemy ZOC, the player must activate him before any other 

leader. However, a leader so activated may not use Momentum. The leader is Finished if still in 

an enemy ZOC after all other leaders are either Finished or in an enemy ZOC.” 

6.52 The reference in bullet #2 should be to 6.52[1]. 

6.7 Clarification: The “M Hun” units cannot use Feigned Retreat 

6.73 #3 Replace the last sentence with: “The defending player’s other units may not conduct any 

type of reaction (OW, FR, Reaction Fire) against the pursuing unit, nor may the pursuing unit 

use Missile Fire against any unit other than the unit conducting the Feigned Retreat.” 

6.76 Example of Feigned Retreat: Last sentence should begin “He rolls a 6 (a 0-6 ….” 

Diagram: The units in the diagram should be rotated to face a hex vertex. 

10.16: Add at the end: "A unit that has Cohesion Hits removed cannot move/fire in the same 

Orders Phase, and a unit that has moved or fired may not have hits removed." 

 

10.27: Delete: “An individual leader may attempt to rally a given unit only once per Game Turn. 

The limitation applies to the leader, not the unit, which may be rallied by another leader in that 

same Game Turn.” 

10.31 Clarification: A leader unit stacked with Engaged combat unit is also Engaged and must 

remain with that unit. 



Cataphract Scenario Book 

The Catalonian Fields 
Ferocity: 1st bullet should be “Defending units add two (+2) to all pre-Shock TQ die rolls” 
 
Tricameron  
Setup Diagram: Ignore the Byzantine LI, LC, MI on the right side of the diagram 

 
Taginae  
Setup Diagram: There should be another 3 Byzantine LI Archers on the right flank 

Justinian Rules 

6.34 Remove the bullet preceding “The Byzantine allies are treated as Field SP for all game 

purposes … “.  

 

Justinian Map 

Battle Table Modifiers, Attacker DRM and Defender DRM: Replace “coastal” with “Fort” 


